About WMBMA


The West Michigan Bluegrass Music Association is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to promoting Bluegrass and acoustic music in West Michigan.  Formed in 1993, its infancy included small groups of musicians who enjoyed getting together for semi-organized 'jams.'  While jammng is still an integral part of WMBMA, (we even coordinate 'celebrity jams' with many of our headliner acts), the organization is proud to bring in regional and well-known national Bluegrass acts - drawing fans from many midwestern states and Canada.  Our premier event - JuneGrass (formerly MayFest) - has featured top-shelf Bluegrass acts including The Chapmans, Kenny & Amanda Smith, Detour,The Boxcars, Chris Jones and the NightDrivers, Newtown and Flatt Lonesome. Most recently our 2017 JuneGrass festival featured - Bluetown and Trinity River Band! Regional favorites gracing our stage include New County Grass, and straight from the mountains of Kalamazoo, Schlitz Creek. Other popular local acts include Steam Powered Bluegrass, Calabogie Road, Out of the Blue Bluegrass Band and west-Michigan favorites - The Williams Family!

Be sure to check out our new Facebook page! Click HERE to see it!

The 2018-2019 Board Membership includes Officers:  President - John Lakatos (president2018@wmbma.org), Vice President - Ed Bronson (vicepresident@wmbma.org), Secretary - Ruth Lakatos (secretary@wmbma.org), and Treasurer - Gregory May (treasurer@wmbma.org).

At-Large member Mark Walker works with Promotions (promotions@wmbma.org), and is also the webmaster for the WMBMA.org website. 

The remaining At-Large members include Ronnie Bailey (randsbailey@charter.net), Ben Crofoot,  Dave & Josie Conley (poodydfc@icloud.com), Bert Jones (Bertjones2@gmail.com), Al Pursley (alpursley28@gmail.com),  Dave Simmonds (dave.simmonds@foremost.com), and Jim Thompson (jjmasa@aol.com).