The West Michigan Bluegrass Music Association  Our Officers and Board members are excited about the future of our organization. Check out the 'About WMBMA' page for information on the leadership elected by the members.  Also keep an eye on the website - not only for information, but for a new look and feel in 2018.  We're looking to keep it 'simple but informative,' yet doing so in an economical and aesthetically pleasing format. 

 

 

About WMBMA


The West Michigan Bluegrass Music Association is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to promoting Bluegrass and acoustic music in West Michigan.  Formed in 1993, its infancy included small groups of musicians who enjoyed getting together for semi-organized 'jams.'  While jammng is still an integral part of WMBMA, (we even coordinate 'celebrity jams' with many of our headliner acts), the organization is proud to bring in regional and well-known national Bluegrass acts - drawing fans from many midwestern states and Canada.  Our premier event - JuneGrass (formerly MayFest) - has featured top-shelf Bluegrass acts including The Chapmans, Kenny & Amanda Smith, Detour,The Boxcars, Chris Jones and the NightDrivers, Newtown and Flatt Lonesome. Most recently our 2017 JuneGrass festival featured - Bluetown and Trinity River Band! Regional favorites gracing our stage include New County Grass, and straight from the mountains of Kalamazoo, Schlitz Creek. Other popular local acts include Steam Powered Bluegrass, Calabogie Road, Out of the Blue Bluegrass Band and west-Michigan favorites - The Williams Family!

The 2017-2018 Board Membership includes Officers:  President - Gregory May (president@wmbma.org), Vice President - Dan Seif (vicepresident@wmbma.org), Secretary - Ruth Lakatos (secretary@wmbma.org), and Treasurer - Mark Walker (treasurer@wmbma.org). Mark additionally works with Promotions (promotions@wmbma.org), and is also the webmaster for the WMBMA.org website.  At-Large members include Ronnie Bailey (randsbailey@charter.net), Ed Bronson (edlvb@outlook.com), Dave & Josie Conley (poodydfc@icloud.com), Bert Jones (Bertjones2@gmail.com), Louise Kamphuis, John Lakatos (jrmusic1@charter.net) Jim Thompson (jjmasa@aol.com), and Dave Simmonds  (dave.simmonds@foremost.com)